在疫情期間管理強迫症

可能面臨的挑戰

  • 疫情為強迫症患者造成更多挑戰,在已有的恐懼及壓力上造成等多困難。一些源於對個人衛生及安全的擔心而出現的強迫想法,如無法照顧好家人的內疚感;或強迫行為,如不斷重複洗手或囤積日常用品等,能嚴重影響他們的日常生活。

管理症狀

  • 專注管理強迫行為。與朋友及家人討論他們能協助你的方法,及預先計劃好應對方法。
  • 進行放鬆、呼吸及靜觀練習。雖然這些練習並不會除掉所有重復出現的想法,但它能幫助你轉移自己的注意力,減輕壓力。嘗試透過辨識這些想法(例如標記這些想法「我出現了⋯⋯的想法」),從這些想法抽離。記得擁有這些想法不等於它們會成真。
  • 照顧自己的健康。定期運動、均衡飲食和獲得足夠睡眠。照顧自己的健康還可以讓自己更有效面對壓力。
  • 與人傾訴你經歷強迫症的體會。雖然將自己的經歷化作語言可能有點困難,但分享自身經歷不但能助別人理解你的情況,還可以幫助自己應對自己的想法。

朋友及家人能如何協助

  • 了解更強有關強迫症
  • 一起計劃如何管理強迫行為。
  • 聆聽及嘗試理解他們的經歷。

相關資源及服務

上一頁 下一頁

Managing OCD during COVID-19

Possible challenges they face

  • The pandemic can be challenging for people living with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) as it can add to their fears and distress. Obsessive thoughts, such as guilt of being unable to take care of their family, and compulsive behaviours, like washing hands repeatedly or hoarding essential goods, which may have stemmed from their concerns over hygiene and safety, can significantly affect their daily lives.

Managing symptoms

  • Focus on managing compulsions. Discuss with friends and family on how they can help you, and plan ahead on what to do when it happens.
  • Relaxation, breathing and mindfulness exercise. Although practising these exercises will not get rid of all obsessive thoughts, it can help to distract you from your thoughts and ease some of your distress. Try to gain some distance from your obsessive thoughts by labelling them as thoughts e.g., “I am having the thought that…” and remembering that having a thought does not make it true.
  • Take care of your wellbeing. Exercise regularly, keep a healthy diet and get a good nights sleep. Taking care of your general wellbeing also better equips you to cope with stress.
  • Talk to someone about your OCD experience. Putting your experience into words can be difficult, however, sharing your experience not only helps them to understand your situation but also helps you to better cope with your thoughts.

How can friends and family help

  • Learn more about OCD
  • Plan together on how to manage compulsions.
  • Listen and try to understand their experience.

Resources

Previous page Next page